A Friendly, Family Community


Left to right – Chief Executive Officer Christie Smith, Cr Suma Reid, Cr Scott Crosby, Shire President Kate Johnston, Deputy President Darren Gray, Cr Greg Hobley, Cr Dustin Harris.

The Shire of Kent was first established in 1923 as the Kent Road Board. In 1955 the name was changed to the Nyabing-Pingrup Road Board and retained this name in 1961 when it became a shire. The name was further altered in 1973 to the Shire of Kent.

The name ‘Kent’ apparently comes from the commissariat officer of Dr T. Wilson’s expedition of 1829. The first white men to visit the area were sandalwood cutters with the first lease of 2000 acres being taken around Cairlocup Lagoon by John Hassell in 1873.

The town of Pingrup was officially gazetted on May 9, 1924. The town of Nyabing was officially gazetted on December 24, 1912 after a name change from Nampup. Nyabing celebrated its centenary year in 2012!

Council Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month, (excluding January), commencing at 4.30pm. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers, Richmond Street, Nyabing.